Peace deal and Impacts (Part II)

NACH DER UNIVERSITÄT

For unknown reasons, only a few microbuses –but all overloaded–were plying on the route no. 2. I managed to win a seat after waiting for 20 minutes. The digital clock at the park opposite to the Ratnapark was showing 10:03 am when I got down the gas-fueled blue bus. Somebody had

burnt plastics in the pavement, the air was noisome around. I cannot tolerate the odour of burnt plastic and rubber (tyres). Those nuts don’t know that the gases produced by plastic burning are poisonous. They don’t know the chemistry of hydrocarbons and the health impact; I cannot make them understand either.

It was waiting for bus to Ruhmstadt (a Germanised name!!) but none came. I asked the man in blue who was near to me if he saw any bus on the route. He in his Madhesi accent said he had just come to the duty. But pointing his fingers towards south, he mentioned there was some “julus.”

Earlier, a gentleman had asked me if I knew why there was no bus to Lagankhel! I carelessly had said him that he could find one below the overhead-crossing bridge.

(In phone, AD had told me that around Tripureshowor there was jam when I had reached Gaushala.)

It had been 10 minutes hanging around in front of Ratnapark. So I decided to go to the Sahidgate. I had reached to the Khullamanch gate but I saw the bus I was waiting for. So I ran back to the stop. A Geology guy too ascended the bus. We sat face to face.

From Tripureshwor, there was traffic jam. We were stuck. The pace of our vehicle was like that of snail. It took 90 minutes to reach Kuleshwor. I asked the conductor why there was such a wayward jam. But reasons were vague as is the Nepali politics! Nothing was clear but the boy said that in Balkhu, in the last trip also, the bus had come through similar jam.

What could be the reasons? Maoists taking out victory rallies? Or, others halting the traffic to pressurize the administration to fulfill their demands (whatever they be!)? Nothing was clear.

The Geology boy (I don’t know his name. But I used to see him in a narrow galli of Anamnagar while going to or returning from my office a couple of years ago. Later in Uni, we started talking to each other and of course shaking hands.) and I decided to get off the bus. It was suffocating like hell.

(In the evening, I came to know that the jam was an effect of the protest programme by the Kathmandu denizens who were voicing against the Maoist intimidation.)

Uphill the department, I was sweating. That BL is a freeloader; BM is out of station. So no classes today. AS said Pneumococcus culture died and no lab work either. She says she had asked me to bring samples with the bacterium; I don’t remember that. A blatant lie, it was. She is cunning… Everybody at the CDM is cunning. Surendra took back the cricket materials so no more playing.

Surendra found the new edition of Topley and Wilson volumes to photocopy. We went to Teaching Hospital then. I got my eyes checked up.

Sanjeev told me that Jyoti is gone to the UK for his PG. My refraction is changed. (This time I paid for the refraction examination. I would not,

had Sanjeev been around when the doc sent me to the room number 10 and 14.) I didn’t take time to weigh up the expertise of the boy in 14; “A

student,” I guessed. I confirmed it later from Sanjeev. Sanjeev, an old friend, checked my refraction. Very difficult job when the patient is me.

Fluctuating vision! He took half an hour to make me happy with new power. Axis of the right eye has slightly changed, he said.

Back to the doc (his hands were coloured with abir), I complained of some irritation in my eyes. Not severe though. He checked up and said it was because of oily secretion under the eyelids. He has suggested to wash eyes with lukewarm water and slightly rub the eyelids. Twice daily.

Also, a prescription of some eyedrops four times a day.

In Anamol, I hit my forehead in the glass door. We entered from the backyard after parking the old bike. I didn’t see the glass; I sidestepped the

open door and tried to enter from the closed panel. It was a matter of shame for a while; every body heard the bang and probably saw a jittery me

rubbing the forehead around the left eyebrow. It’s swollen. The chat was not very tasty.

When I reached home, an old woman greeted me. “Babu, Namaskar!” I too greeted her. “Tara maile chineko chhaina ni,” being humble to the extent I could I said. “Chininchha ni bistarai,” she replied. She was talking to that old granny. I didn’t care but some parts of their conversation that I happened to hear made me irritated. She was suggesting the 94-year-old who 20 times a day goes to toilet to eat Chyawanprash. I was sure she

was not our close relative. Latter, I got to know that she is wife of Pokhrel baa, a neighbour.

I could only see the finish of the Maoists’ press conference. Prachanda is okay. But Badal is handsome. Baburam, not attractive at all. I mean only in their visual aspects.

By the way, at Krishna jee’s stationery, I read some newspapers. In that rag “Ghatana ra Bichar,” there is a piece about main ten persons who helped bring the Maoists to the political mainstream. There was a name:Amresh Kumar Singh. One Singh with similar name used to be our lab instructor in NSS (NIST) in 1996-98. I remembered him while reading the article. Though with no persona, he had political affiliations and approaches as well. Once he used to come to the school in a yellow-plate car; he was politically appointed in a big post in the Gorkhapatra

Sansthan. I remember Ananta Bhattarai, zoology teacher, commenting on him: Jaslai Nepali lai raamrai bolna aaundaina uslai Gorkhapatra maa niyukti! The same Singh, with whom I had no good chemistry (relation as well) (there was an incidence) gave me 24 marks only (out of 25) despite my doing well in practical exams. The Chemistry MSc went to JNU for PhD in International Politics later. Navin told me so. He knows that because Aaama too is doing PhD from the same university. I remembered another funny story: He asked Aaama to invite him for dinner. Hahah. Navin and I always (laugh at him) when we remember that…

Amazingly, Singh turned out the same person doing PhD in JNU. According to the article, he worked as the link among Delhi, the Maoists and Girija Prasad Koirala. May be Amaresh Sir did that. But I felt a lot of exaggeration there.

Though reading papers, I was giving my ear to the conversation between Krishna’s bro and one of the visitors. They were talking about the people protesting against the Maoists who had forcefully asked the valley residents to feed their cadres and provide shelter for free for three days.

One of them said,”Why only the countrypeople to bear with the Maoists? Let the Kathmaduites too look after them”

“YOu are correct. These loaded Kathmanduites also need to learn lesson,” This was the other’s riposte.

May be some sympathy to the Maoists. But more than that they had bitter feelings for the capital residetns. I did not try to ask them why.

Mr. KK, a relative. He returned from Rasuwa today. Yuk! His hackneyed Mandalay-style arguments. I read out an article in the Jana-Astha to

irritate him. It was about corrupt judiciary. He works in a court. I don’t know his post. But though lower, he has gathered a lot of dough. He is in a

lucrative department; he brings computer, bike etc –confiscated goods related to the cases that are being heard in the court– from the store. (Not

only him, his subordinates including the judges also take away such valuables from the court store for personal use, according to him.) And I have

seen defendants visiting his house and bringing gifts. Sometimes, he works as the bridge between a judge, his godfather who is in the Supreme

Court now, and the defendants.

The article was about the sluggishness of the SC regarding commoners’ cases but quick decision making for high profile people. Incidentally, at the

last, there was mention of his master’s name. He kept mum for a while and said, “This lousy paper always runs after the judges and courts.

Everything is false.” That time Naani poked me and we smiled.
Actually, I opted to irritate him because saying that the parties are no good, he was damn criticizing them for yesterday’s agreement and advocating

for Gyanendra’s autocratic rule. When Dai said what port folios Maoists would like to take over in the interim government, he posed himself as a

clean man and said that the Maoists are corrupt, wicked and evil so they would fight for the ministries where they would make a lot of money. He

said,”Landreform to seize land from the lords.” He kept on mumbling. I did not respond. But giving example of the insolence by the SC regarding

retaking oath by the judges in front of the parliament and reprimand to the decision to file Mahaabhiyog against two of the SC justices by a

parliamentary committee, when he said, “None can do anything to judiciary,” I felt of giving him a lesson. So read out the article. (I had only read a

paragraph earlier.)

By the way, one of the most corrupts institutions in the country is judiciary. Will the interim government venture to take action against the corrupts?

May be not because they are only for the conduction of the constituent assembly elections. However, the Interim Constituent assembly should not

let the judiciary go astray; the courts should be for providing people with justice, not for the judges and staffer making easy money.

—-

My mouse! My mice!

I tried with all these three. But none is obeying me. I am resorting to the keyboard commands now. But it’s very difficult when mouse doesn’t work.

One comment on “Peace deal and Impacts (Part II)

do you have anything to say?

