Beauty

iIs beauty is illusion? I don’t think so. It is not always an illusion.

Then, is it relative? Yes, it is. Everything in the world is relative.

However, when we remain within the conventional frame of reference, if there is any, she does not fall under the category of having beauty.

I saw a girl in the bus I was traveling back home today. She was nice: tall, slim, long hair, fair complexion and nice body. But her Medusan eyes did not let her to be a beauty queen. The yellow colour of the conjunctiva had added horror to her horrendous eyes balls.

And the proverb “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder” is not cent percent true in her case. But if you say, “Beauty is only skin-deep”, you may be correct. Only the visual aspect is not the beauty.

Shall I remember Ambrose Philips’ verse?

The flowers anew, returning seasons bring!
But beauty faded has no second spring.

David Hume, a Scottish philosopher has somewhere said: “Beauty in things exists in the mind which contemplates them.”

John Milton has written in “Comus”:

Beauty is Nature’s brag, and must be shown
In courts, at feasts, and high solemnities
Where most may wonder at the workmanship;
It is for homely features to keep home,
They had their name thence; coarse complexions
And cheeks of sorry grain will serve to ply
The sampler, and to tease the housewife’s wool.

John Keats in “Ode on a Grecian Urn” says:

“Beauty is truth, truth beauty,”—that is all
Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know.

Why to forget Shakespeare? He has written in “The Rape of Lucrene”:

Beauty itself doth of itself persuade
The eyes of men without an orator.

‘In Paradise Regained”, my favourite John Milton has written:

Beauty stands
In the admiration only of weak minds
Led captive.

Oh, I remembered these lines by Keats:

A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases; it will never
Pass into nothingness; but still will keep
A bower quiet for us, and a sleep
Full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing.

Lastly, I don’t stick to the conventional definition of beauty. Take my own appearance for case in point. I don’t have that sort of visual aspect which would be considered attractive. But I am not an ugly duckling. And, I love to be how I am. The superficial beauty is something that can be manufactured. The inner beauty cannot be feigned.

I am beautiful from inside. (I am laughing at myself after writing the previous sentence.)

But I cannot say about the girl I mentioned above.

Beauty and pride go to the grave. But fine feathers make fine birds.

Nevertheless, I don’t deny the insinuation of this Scottish proverb: The fairest face, the falsest heart.

2 comments on “Beauty

do you have anything to say?

